Call for Papers

GI 2012 will be the 38th Graphics Interface conference; it is the oldest continuously-scheduled conference in the field. GI consistently attracts high-quality papers on recent advances in interactive systems, human computer interaction, and graphics, from around the world.

All paper submissions are fully peer reviewed by two members of the program committee and two external reviewers. Accepted papers will be archived in the ACM Digital Library.

Authors of selected papers will be invited to submit significantly extended and revised manuscripts to be considered for journal publication in a special section of Computers and Graphics.

Papers have a maximum length of eight pages. Pages beyond eight are subject to page charges. Papers as short as four pages can be accepted.

Graphics Interface 2012 will have joint sessions for the graphics and HCI tracks. Topics of interest at GI include (but are not restricted to):

  • Shading and rendering
  • Geometric modeling and meshing
  • Graphics in simulation
  • Image-based rendering
  • Image synthesis and realism
  • Medical visualization
  • Scientific visualization
  • Computer animation
  • Real-time rendering
  • Non-photorealistic rendering
  • Virtual reality
  • Interaction techniques
  • Computer-supported cooperative work
  • Human interface devices
  • Augmented reality
  • Data and information visualization
  • Multimedia
  • Mobile computing
  • Haptic and tangible interfaces
  • Aesthetic Design
  • Affective interfaces
  • Perception

Summary of Deadlines:

  • Papers submission: December 22, 2011, 11:59 pm PST
  • Author notification: March 3rd, 2012
  • Final papers due: Mar 18th, 2012

Formatting instructions for paper submissions are available online.

Program Committee:


  • Derek Bradley, Disney Research
  • Loic Barthe, Universite de Toulouse
  • Theodore Kim, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Eric Paquette, Ecole de technologie superieure
  • Minglun Gong, Memorial University
  • Richard Zhang, Simon Fraser University
  • Bill Kapralos, University of Ontario Institute of Technology
  • Mubbasir Kapadia, University of Pennsylvania
  • Pierre Poulin, University of Montreal
  • Tobias Isenberg, University of Groningen
  • William Cowan, University of Waterloo


  • Jeremy Cooperstock, McGill University
  • Orland Hoeber, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Edward Lank, University of Waterloo
  • Bonnie MacKay, Dalhousie University
  • Karyn Moffat, McGill University
  • Carman Neustadter, Simon Fraser University
  • Sylvie Noel, Communications Research Centre Canada
  • Andriy Pavlovych, University of Saskatchewan
  • Anthony Tang, University of Calgary
  • Jason Alexander, Lancaster University

Program Co-Chairs:

  • Stephen Brooks, Graphics Co-Chair
    Dalhousie University
    6050 University Avenue, Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3H 1W5, CANADA
    sbrooks [at] cs dal ca

  • Kirstie Hawkey, HCI Co-Chair
    Dalhousie University
    6050 University Avenue, Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3H 1W5, CANADA
    hawkey [at] cs dal ca

Sponsored by the Canadian Human-Computer Communications Society