Call for Papers

GI 2011 will be the 37th Graphics Interface conference; it is the oldest continuously-scheduled conference in the field. GI consistently attracts high-quality papers on recent advances in interactive systems, human computer interaction, and graphics, from around the world.

All paper submissions are fully peer reviewed by two members of the program committee and two external reviewers. Accepted papers will be archived in the ACM Digital Library.

Papers have a maximum length of eight pages. Pages beyond eight are subject to page charges. Papers as short as four pages can be accepted.

Graphics Interface 2011 will have joint sessions for the graphics and HCI tracks. Topics of interest at GI include (but are not restricted to):

  • Shading and rendering
  • Geometric modeling and meshing
  • Graphics in simulation
  • Image-based rendering
  • Image synthesis and realism
  • Medical visualization
  • Scientific visualization
  • Computer animation
  • Real-time rendering
  • Non-photorealistic rendering
  • Virtual reality
  • Interaction techniques
  • Computer-supported cooperative work
  • Human interface devices
  • Augmented reality
  • Data and information visualization
  • Multimedia
  • Mobile computing
  • Haptic and tangible interfaces
  • Aesthetic Design
  • Affective interfaces
  • Perception

Summary of Deadlines:

  • Papers submission: December 20, 2010, 11:59 pm PST (extended)
  • Author notification: March 3rd, 2011
  • Final papers due: Mar 18th, 2011

Formatting instructions for paper submissions are available online.

Program Committee:


  • David Mould, Carleton University
  • Derek Bradley, Disney Research Zurich
  • Paul Kry, McGill University
  • Christopher M. Collins, University of Ontario Institute of Technology
  • Pierre Poulin, University of Montreal
  • Minglun Gong, Memorial University
  • Marco Gillies, University of London
  • Loic Barthe, Universite Paul Sabatier
  • Torsten Moller, Simon Fraser University
  • Craig Kaplan, Waterloo


  • Andrea Bunt, University of Manitoba
  • Ed Lank, University of Waterloo
  • Michael McGuffin, Ecole de technologie superieure
  • Miguel Nacenta, University of Calgary
  • Magy Seif El-Nasr, Simon Fraser University
  • Niklas Elmqvist, Purdue University
  • Daniel Wigdor, Microsoft Research
  • Jason Alexander, University of Bristol
  • Mira Dontcheva, Adobe Systems
  • Charlotte Tang, University of British Columbia

Program Co-Chairs:

  • Stephen Brooks, Graphics Co-Chair
    Dalhousie University
    6050 University Avenue, Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3H 1W5, CANADA
    sbrooks [at] cs dal ca

  • Pourang Irani, HCI Co-Chair
    University of Manitoba
    Department of Computer Science, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2, CANADA
    irani [at] cs umanitoba ca

Sponsored by the Canadian Human-Computer Communications Society